The Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey was published in 1942 by the Chicago Public Library Omnibus Project of the Works Progress Administration of Illinois. The purpose of the project was to translate and classify selected news articles that appeared in the foreign language press from 1855 to 1938. The project consists of 120,000 typewritten pages translated from newspapers of 22 different foreign language communities of Chicago.

Read more about this historic project.

You are looking at one result from the German group.
This group has 7091 other articles.

This article was published in 1868.
16 articles were published that year.

This article has a primary subject code of "Part Played by Social and Political Societies" (I F 2).
747 articles share this primary code.

  • Illinois Staats-Zeitung -- March 28, 1868
    Second Ward Grant Club

    Many Republican citizens of the Second Ward met in Saint George's Hall, 226 South Clark Street, on Saturday evening.

    Mr. August Kopsel acted as chairman, and explained the purpose of the meeting to the assembly, namely, to organize a Grant Club.

    It was decided that A. Neuhaus, Philipp Becker, Joseph Keller, C. N. Hawley, and William F. Naulty should serve as a committee on permanent organization and report at this session.

    While the committee was deliberating, Captain N. T. Gassette and Alderman DeWolf addressed the meeting, emphasizing the necessity of organizing in every ward, to win the coming election.

    Thereupon the committee returned and reported the following as officers of the club:


    President, A. Kopsel; vice-presidents, C. W. Hawley, Joseph Kellogg, Calvin DeWolf, C. Herrick, and George Lafflin; secretary, Henry Speer; treasurer, Philipp Becker; executive committee, G. Carter, C. B. Farwell, C. W. Schell, Joseph Butler, Hugh Reed, John Schroeder, Dr. David Dodge, Arthur Dixon, August Neuhaus, Dr. D. C. Blake, Jacob Koch, Dr. Leslie, and Charles Gay.

    The report of the committee was adopted unanimously.

    Mr. John Lyle King, Mr. A. C. Hesing, Mr. E. S. Solomon, and Mr. C. W. Hawley made eloquent speeches in behalf of the candidacy of General Grant for the presidency of the United States.

    Adjournment followed.

    I F 2, III A, IV